2012~~Day 7


Today was another unseasonably warm and sunny day in Northern Illinois. You would think that I would get sick of saying that …but hmmm.. I don’t. Today I decided to try a recipe I have been wanting to try for awhile.   It’s from a blog that I have followed for a few years called Peas And Thank You.   You can check it out here….http://peasandthankyou.com/ Vegan recipes made simple, delicious and cheap.   I am not vegan but I do try to eat meat free whenever possible.   Today I tried the Roasted Chick Pea Taco recipe. I made it into a taco salad though because I am trying to watch the carbs. Let me tell you…this stuff was soooo good.   But don’t just take my word for it….check out these photos…….

 

 

The Roasted Chick Peas

 

salad topped with the chick peas, avocado, onions, tomatoes, olives, and a bit of cheese

 

and topped off with some Cilantro Lime Fat Free "Sour Cream"

 

I made the “sour cream” with some  Fat Free Fage Greek Yogurt, 2 packs of True Lime, and a cilatro cube. They sell the cilantro cubes in the hispanic food section next to the beef and chicken cubes.    I have to say….this was truly impressive. So easy to make and very healthy.  And THAT makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

